Skip to main content
Resources for:

U.S. Men History

The first world championship was as a four-team invitational tournament in 1967, where Mt. Washington (Md.) Lacrosse Club represented the United States and won the title. Seven years later, the U.S. fielded an all-star team to compete in a similar international invitational tournament in Australia. It was here that the concept of holding a world championship tournament every four years was born. The International Lacrosse Federation (ILF) was formed to govern men’s lacrosse on the international level, and sanctioned World Championship events from 1974-2006 until merging with the IFWLA in 2008 to form the Federation of International Lacrosse (FIL). Following the 2018 championship, the FIL rebranded itself as World Lacrosse.

The U.S. has captured 10 world championships, including the most recent title in 2018 when Tom Schreiber scored the game-winning goal with just one second left to give the U.S. a 9-8 victory over Canada in Netanya, Israel. The next world championship will be held in 2023 in Southern California.

The U.S. team holds a 66-4 all-time record in World Championship competition

USA Lacrosse coordinates all aspects of the U.S. Men’s National Team Program.

World Championship History

Year Location Champion Runner-Up Score
1967 Toronto, Ontario United States Australia  
1974 Melbourne, Australia United States 3-way tie  
1978 Stockport, England Canada United States 17-16 (OT)
1982 Baltimore, Md. United States Australia 22-14
1986 Toronto, Ontario United States Canada 18-9
1990 Perth, Australia United States Canada 19-15
1994 Manchester, England United States Australia 21-7
1998 Baltimore, Md. United States Canada 15-14 (OT)
2002 Perth, Australia United States Canada 18-15
2006 London, Ontario Canada United States 15-10
2010 Manchester, England United States Canada 12-10
2014 Denver, Colo. Canada United States 8-5
2018 Netanya, Israel United States Canada 9-8
2023 Southern California TBD TBD TBD





Honored Players








Official Partners U.S. Men's National Team

MedStar Health
Game On